## VIRGINIA HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

## MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COMMISSIONERS HELD ON AUGUST 22, 2023

Pursuant to the call of the Chair and notice duly given, the special meeting of the Commissioners of the Virginia Housing Development Authority ("Virginia Housing") was held on August 22, 2023, at the offices of Virginia Housing, 601 South Belvidere Street, Richmond, Virginia.

## COMMISSIONERS PRESENT:

William C. Shelton, Chair Thomas A. Gibson, IV, Vice Chair Nathalia Artus Davon Gray Dominique Hicks-Whitaker Bryan Horn Abigail Johnson Carlos Larrazabal David L. Richardson Donald E. Scoggins Sarah Stedfast

<u>COMMISSIONERS ABSENT</u>: None

## **OTHERS PRESENT:**

Susan F. Dewey, Chief Executive Officer Fred Bryant, Chief Counsel Janet Wiglesworth, Chief of Operations Lisa Watson, Managing Director of Human Resources Bryce Dort, Audio Visual Technician Tara Jenkins, Director of Executive Services Lyn Harper, Mercer Matthew Mullen, Mercer

Chair Shelton called the special meeting of the Board of Commissioners to order at approximately 12:00 PM on August 22, 2023. All the Commissioners listed above as present at the meeting were present at that time and remained present throughout the meeting, except Commissioner Artus who left and rejoined the meeting as noted below. Per Virginia Housing's Amended and Restated Policy Governing Electronic Participation in Board Meetings dated February 22, 2023, Mr. Bryant announced that Commissioner Johnson was participating from Ås, Norway through electronic communication means due to a personal matter.

Chair Shelton welcomed Commissioners Gray and Stedfast as new members of the Board.

Ms. Dewey announced her retirement from Virginia Housing effective December 31, 2023, and later in the meeting delivered a formal letter to that effect.

Ms. Dewey provided an overview of her accomplishments as CEO for fiscal year 2023 (FY23).

On motion duly made and seconded, a motion that the Board convene in closed session for "discussion, consideration, or interviews of prospective candidates for employment; assignment, appointment, promotion, performance, demotion, salaries, disciplining, or resignation of specific public officers, appointees, or employees of any public body" related to Ms. Dewey's FY23 performance as CEO and retirement announcement in accordance with Section 2.2-3711.A.1 of the Code of Virginia and further that Ms. Watson, Mr. Bryant, Mr. Mullen and Ms. Harper, who are deemed necessary to be present or will reasonably aid the Board of Commissioners in its consideration of the aforesaid topic, be present during the closed session was approved by the affirmative vote of the Commissioners noted above as present at the meeting. Commissioner Artus left and rejoined the meeting during the closed session. At the conclusion of the closed meeting, the Commissioners reconvened in an open meeting. Each Commissioner then present certified, by roll-call vote, that to the best of his or her knowledge, only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under the Freedom of Information Act and only such public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the closed meeting was convened were heard, discussed or considered in the closed meeting by the Commissioners.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at approximately 1:27 PM.

Thomas A. Gibson, IV, Chair

Fred Bryant, Assistant Secretary