<u>Final</u>

VIRGINIA HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COMMISSIONERS HELD ON AUGUST 3, 2022

Pursuant to the call of the Chairman and notice duly given, the special meeting of the Commissioners of the Virginia Housing Development Authority ("Virginia Housing") was held on August 3, 2022, at the offices of Virginia Housing, 601 South Belvidere Street, Richmond, Virginia.

COMMISSIONERS PRESENT:

William C. Shelton, Chairman

Nathalia Artus

Bryan Horn

Abigail Johnson

Carlos Larrazabal

Lisa R. Porter

Michael J. Schewel

Donald E. Scoggins

Dominique Hicks Whitaker

COMMISSIONERS ABSENT:

Thomas A. Gibson, IV, Vice Chairman

David L. Richardson

OTHERS PRESENT:

Susan F. Dewey, Chief Executive Officer

Paul M. Brennan, Chief of Staff

Fred Bryant, Chief Counsel

Tammy Neale, Chief of Programs

Janet Wiglesworth, Chief of Operations

Arthur N. Bowen, Managing Director of Rental Housing

Steve Mintz, Deputy Chief Counsel

Lisa Watson, Managing Director of Human Resources

JD Bondurant, Director of Low Income Housing Tax Credit Programs

Stephanie Flanders, Assistant Director of Low Income Housing Tax Credit Programs

Everett Gardner, Associate Deputy Counsel

Janet Groessler, Senior Executive Assistant

Tara Jenkins, Associate Chief

Salathia Johnson, Associate Chief

Tommy Le, Senior Desktop Support Analyst

Zach LeMaster, Gentry Locke

Myriam Michaels, Korn Ferry

Chairman Shelton called the special meeting of the Board of Commissioners to order at 10:02 AM on August 3, 2022. All of the Commissioners listed above as present at the meeting were present at that time and remained present throughout the meeting, except Commissioner Horn

who joined the meeting, as noted below, and Commissioner Schewel who left the meeting, as noted below.

Per Virginia Housing's Policy Governing Electronic Participation in Board Meetings, Commissioner Johnson participated in the meeting via Webex from Williamsburg, Virginia due to a business conflict and Commissioner Schewel participated in the meeting via Webex from Santa Fe, New Mexico due to a personal matter (vacation).

Chairman Shelton welcomed Commissioners Scoggins and Whitaker as new members of the Board.

Ms. Flanders provided (1) a review of the proposed amendments to the Virginia housing opportunity tax credit ("HOTC") regulations, and (2) an update on the allocation process for and anticipated results of the 2022 HOTC pool. The consensus of the Board was for staff to proceed with soliciting public comment on the proposed regulation changes. Staff anticipates bringing copies or summaries of such public comments, recommended final regulations, and recommended allocations of HOTC to the Board at the October meeting.

Commissioner Horn joined the meeting after the conclusion of the HOTC discussion.

On motion duly made and seconded, a motion that the Board convene in closed session to discuss and consider the performance of Ms. Dewey in accordance with Section 2.2-3711.A.1 of the Code of Virginia and further that Ms. Dewey, Mr. Bryant, Ms. Watson and Ms. Michaels, who are deemed necessary to be present or will reasonably aid the Board of Commissioners in its consideration of the aforesaid topic, be present during the closed session was approved by the affirmative vote of the Commissioners noted above as present at the meeting. Commissioner Schewel left the meeting prior to the conclusion of closed session. At the conclusion of the closed meeting, the Commissioners reconvened in an open meeting. Each Commissioner then present certified, by roll-call vote, that to the best of his or her knowledge, only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under the Freedom of Information Act and only such public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the closed meeting was convened were heard, discussed or considered in the closed meeting by the Commissioners.

Chairman Shelton mentioned the upcoming Governor's Housing Conference and requested that Commissioners advise staff whether they would like to attend.

	There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at approximately 12:55 PM	on
August	3, 2022.	

Fred Bryant, Assistant Secretary

William C. Shelton, Chairman